This morning.

Standard

I’ve had a stack of books from the library (one of many) that I wanted to sift through this morning. Here are the notes from what I read:

From Parenting Gifted Kids by James R. Delisle

Giftedness is a greater awareness, a greater sensitivity, and a greater ability to understand and transform perception into intellectual and emotional experiences.” –Roeper

 

A lesson which many gifted persons never learn as long as they live is that human beings in general are inherently very different from themselves in thought, in action, in general intention, and in interests. Many a reformer has died at the hands of a mob which he was trying to improve in the belief that other human beings can and should enjoy what he enjoys. –Hollingworth

 

Also I had a book by the National Research Council called How People Learn, it was too clinical and not pointed enough to spend much time on. The couple chapters I skimmed did offer some helpful things to think about when homeschooling. For example, define learning goals with children, explain metacognition to children and help them develop this, community involvement is most of a child’s life.  An expert notices meaningful patterns, acquires a great deal of context knowledge and is able to organize it. 

I found some games on the Mensa website that I’d like to get. 

Forbidden Desert by Gamewright

Ghooost! by IELLO

Kerflip! by Creative Foundry Games

Kulami by FoxMind Games

Also, I’ve been thinking about making a move to Oxford, OH. But looking at the school options, this isn’t too appealing. In Cincinnati we have many more options and specialty schools that I think my kids could benefit from. I’m looking into The Schilling School and well as Springer. We’ve already spoke with Mercy Montessori and SCPA. Who needs a school? Since we homeschool we have the option of going as far with a subject as we want, but with my scattered brain this seems overwhelming.  

Leave a Reply

