What he said.

Standard

This afternoon I was chatting with my oldest son about his day. He said he cried through two periods of school. He didn’t realize there were additional parts to a project that he was to submit today and only turned in a third of what was due. He then went on to tell me that he felt like a failure, that he wasn’t doing what he was supposed to be doing or doing it well enough. I’m not sure if many of you have had these parenting moments but this is how I responded:

1) Failure is good. You might draw one of the best art pieces or think of some very unique exciting idea in the near future, in response to these feelings. Maybe feeling failure is good for a person?

2) Think about why you feel this way. Are you comparing yourself to others or to your best person? (At this point to pulled him away from the table and drew IMAG0616

I asked how things could be better. He said, “if I could learn about interesting things, instead of things I already know.” Tears welled up in his eyes. This make my heartache, I can only tell him that it’s temporary and that next year and the rest of his life will be better. I have to make it better. We plan to return to home schooling and joining a co-op. He says, “when that happens, I’ll be free.”

Straight from the stakeholders mouth.

Leave a Reply

